Functional Fit Bit #1 06/03/15

Today I don’t have a lot of time (isn’t that everyday??). We already took a little walk in the rain, participated in story time at the library, and grabbed a quick snack with lovely friends.  I still need to get the littlest two to nap and clean the house before picking up my eldest from school. My functional fit bit of the day is a HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) routine with bodyweight functional movements.

Fit Bit:

3 rounds of the following 4 movements

Beginner 30 seconds of work followed by 10 seconds rest

Advanced 50 seconds of work followed by 10 seconds rest

Move as fast as you can while also performing the move correctly and purposefully

1.  Step-up (I’ll do them on my stairs)

2. Push-up (Modify to your level)

3. Deep squat (Hold onto something if you need stability in a deep squat)

4. Bird-dog

If you have any questions, or need help with modifying the movements just let me know, I am happy to help.

ETA

DONE! Ended up holding my baby through most of my squats and whenever I did bird-go, my five-year-old was riding me like a horse.  I know you other mommas can relate.

This entry was posted in Fit Bit and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Functional Fit Bit #1 06/03/15

  1. Sallie says:

    Deep squat reps, or hold a deep squat? And what’s a bird dog?

    Like

    • HuntGatherSquatCarry says:

      I did deep squats…And a bird dog is where you assume a quadruped position (hands and knees) 😉 and extend left leg and right arm straight out then back to hands and knees…then extend right leg and left arm out…repeat. While keeping all of your alignment markers and not tipping etc. No cheats! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

