Walk Like a (Hu)man

So if I took a rest from running, what have I been doing?  Walking.  And walking.  And walking some more.  I haven’t walked so much since my college semester abroad.  I walk for exercise, I walk my errands, I walk my dog, and I walk my kids.  😉  I have to say that until I took up walking, I didn’t realize how good it would feel or how strong it would make my body. But duh…it makes sense.  Humans are made to walk.  Habitual bipedalism is a defining feature of our species.  There are so many theories on how humans came to be habitual bipeds that I could write several blogs about each one.  However, for now…let’s just agree that we are made to walk.  So here I am, a former runner turned walker (for now and always, even after I start running more again).  Finally, the sun is shining and the baby is sleeping on me…time for me to get out for a walk myself.  If you are local, maybe I’ll see you out at Lake Harriet, too?

Linky Love

What makes a human a human:  http://humanorigins.si.edu/human-characteristics

More on human habitual bipedalism:  http://humanorigins.si.edu/human-characteristics/walking

And the number one song in 1963: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8X6ugtbpGA

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

