Fit Trip

Oh my…So I think I really am finally caught up from our vacation to Boston. Traveling is so wonderful but it can really set you back in life and in fitness, too.  Here is what I did to keep my body and my mind happy (same goes for my kids!) while away from home.

Well before leaving home, I spent some time thinking about our trip and how I could get movement into our days. Planning! I hate it but it really does work. Since it was a work trip for my husband the first half of our week, I knew my days in the city would be just me and our three kids.  I looked at maps to find places we could walk to that would be interesting and/or delicious.  The children and I walked at least two miles each day to various parks (Boston Common!), playgrounds, cafes (Flour!) and restaurants.  While at a playground, I made sure to hang, do chin-ups, and traverse the monkey bars in lots of ways.  I played chase and “hot lava” with the kids, and climbed whatever structures I could, whether meant for climbing or not. This always makes other children look at you silly. In fact one day, I had every child that wasn’t my own ask me what I was doing and then they asked if they could play with me. 🙂 Moving your body well and playfully really does inspire children, even those who aren’t your own!

While packing, I also thought about how I would be stuck in a hotel room while everyone napped each day, so I tossed a lacrosse ball and yoga strap in my luggage.  I almost brought a half-dome too, but I knew I could improvise with a folded towel.  With just these two props, plus a hotel towel, I was able to do my Mutu exercises, yoga, and self-myofascsial massage.  But the hotel gym you say? Yeah..no time for me in the hotel gym either, since husband was so busy working, but that is the beauty of bodyweight exercises.  I did squats, lunges, planks, pushups, and tricep dips right in my hotel room; no equipment needed!

The second half of the trip was at my dear friend’s home just outside the city.  Here too, we walked a lot (love walkable cities!!) and checked out all their favorite playgrounds.  But the best (movement) part of the vacation was our day trip to Castle Island…Rather than spend a beautiful day chasing kids around a museum, we touched the ocean, walked twice around the island, played at the playground, climbed rocks, had a picnic, felt the wind on our faces, saw seabirds and boats, etc. And it felt so good after so much time in a city and on concrete.

I returned home from our trip, feeling as strong physically as before we left…and dare I say it? I feel as if I had more time to move my body and practice self-care than in my normal life.

How do you move your body while on vacation? How do you fit fitness into a business or leisure trip?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

