Gathered #4

Time for another roundup of some of my favorite things (now I’m singing in my head, great!) from the past week or so. And don’t you love how my littlest one foraged food from the fridge all by herself and settled in for breakfast in bed (next to some of my favorite THINGS: half-dome, yoga strap and dumbbells).

I recently finished reading Down and Dirty: The Essential Training Guide for Obstacle Races and Mud Runs by Matt B. Davis. My favorite chapters were Chapter 9 GETTING OVER WALLS AND OTHER OBSTACLES USING PARKOUR with Matthew Willis, Chapter 12 INCREASING YOUR GRIP STRENGTH featuring Rob Butler, and Chapter 14 CREATING A BACKYARD OBSTACLE COURSE.  If you are looking for a quick and easy read with some  useful information, as well as inspiration for creating natural movement fun in your own yard for you or your kids, check it out.

Take a Break From Weights:  How to Train Intuitively

A great introduction to one of my favorite movement philosophies, MovNat, as well as a primer of how to program natural movement in your fitness regimen.  Please read this!

http://breakingmuscle.com/natural-movement/take-a-break-from-weights-how-to-train-intuitively

The Top 10 Corrective Exercises

Now, I also love alignment and correctives (thanks to Katy Bowman!) so it was neat to read another biomechanist’s work.  Has videos and great explanations.

http://www.ideafit.com/fitness-library/the-top-10-corrective-exercises

 

Let me know what you think!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

